Hampshire Cricket History


Harry Downer
June 25, 2012, 7:56 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Some of you may recall that with the 100th Birthday of Neil McCorkell, I speculated on whether Harry Downer might be next in line. I wrote (below)

Harry Rodney Downer from Southampton was making his first-class debut v Middlesex at Lord’s but was dismissed twice by Etherington for just 1 & 4. He would play only one more match later that year against Gloucestershire where he made 0 & 3 (run out). And that was that for Harry in first-class cricket but as far as we know he is still alive and having been born on 15 October 1915 he is 96.

This Blog post was spotted by his daughter Sarah Downer who replied:

My father, Harry Downer passed away in Montreal Quebec Canada in March 1980; he was 64 years old.

I don’t think any cricket folk knew this. There is no information on Cricket Archive and I cannot recall seeing an obituary. So I replied to Sarah and she sent this further information:

Hello and thank you for your very kind reply. My parents arrived in Canada in 1952 and Father continued to play cricket and field hockey with amateur teams in Montreal. He had a very successful career in the optical business but sadly heart disease led to an early death. He is survived by my mother, Patricia who will be 90 this year and my brother Michael.

With best regards, Sarah (proud daughter)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’ sad to hear Harry Downer is no longer with us. The whereabouts of practically all of those who have represented Hampshire in a First-Class match, and whose name and number appear on the board in the Atrium, are known. Many, of course, attend the annual reunion. However, does anybody know if John Taylor (4 first-class for Hampshire between 1947 and 1949) who would be 88 now, or Colin Roper, who is a mere youngster of 75 who played but one game for Hampshire (another wicket-keeper!) and scored 7 runs and took one catch (off Malcolm Heath) are still around? I wonder if they have ever been to the Rose/Ageas Bowl and seen that they are remembered on ‘the Board’.

Comment by Bob Elliott

Dear Bob ,
I have found a Death for a John Denis taylor(Hampshire) in March 1991 , in Southampton Hampshire on the Find My Past Web Site , but gives birth as 18 February 1923 , apposed to 18 December 1923 , could be mistake either way , is it the right man.
Thanks
Paul Sutton in Warrington

Comment by Paul Sutton

/

Comment by pompeypop

My father, Ralph Linton was a good friend of Harry’s – they played squash together. My father passed away in 1991 but I have many find memories of those days at the M.A.A.A. and your father

Comment by Deborah linton

Hi Deborah – I remember your Father very well and the hours we all spent at the MAAA. It is now a business-based athletic facility and I am no longer a member but Michael, my brother played on until recently and is an accomplished squash player, having won the World doubles title several years ago. Thanks for the comment- Sarah

Comment by Sarah Downer




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

