Hampshire Cricket History


The older I get …
April 7, 2016, 8:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

…the better I was

As the saying goes. So people ask me and I say “oh yes, played Hampshire League, Fareham Park Lane, then Moneyfields in Pompey”.

It’s true, I did – 1970s and 1980s. Played some friendly stuff too for a Southampton team called Cosmopolitan. But I have a pal, John, who works with me on the Hospital Radio commentaries and we played together at college and then at Moneyfields. He’s been going through all the scorebooks and producing digital versions of ‘history’. From this I’ve discovered that I played just one league game in 1981. It happened to be a time when I was in a band that worked pubs and clubs regularly on Friday and Saturday nights so I was a bit sleepy on Saturday mornings and not free after about 5pm on Saturday afternoon. But this one scorecard he found from August 1981 is almost perfect – it’s me to a T!

As usual I opened the batting, this day against Southampton Travellers (on their way to Glastonbury?). My partner was gone quickly for nought but I survived 20 minutes at which point the end came with a final score of four – all from one scoring shot.

I’m slightly disappointed it went all the way to the boundary, but otherwise it’s a perfect DA innings. I’ve always described myself as a bit like Tavaré but without the shots.

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

For younger readers Dave you will need to point out that it is Chris Tavaré you are talking about and not his nephew Will who scores runs at quite a pace for Gloucestershire.

His uncle must be turning (slowly) in his armchair!

Comment by James

Well spotted!

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

