Hampshire Cricket History


Apologies
April 13, 2016, 7:33 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

No news or photos today as I won’t be there. I missed one home day in the Championship last year and if things go to plan I’ll miss just this one in 2017. Why? I’m off to London with my posh frock and an invite to the Wisden Dinner in the Long Room at Lord’s. It’s rather exciting as I’ve never been before and it’s by way of a very kind thank you for the work we did on the Wisden Cricketers’ Board in the Atrium and also – previously a well kept secret – that I gave the spark of an idea and a bit of help for an article about John Manners and Leo Harrison, both ours, and the only surviving pre-war first-class English cricketers.

I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow and if you’re off to the game today, any comments welcome. I guess Warwicks will aim to bat to around lunch for a lead approaching 200 and then look to embarrass Hampshire, rather like the Durham game last year when we were 39-5 but survived on 179-9 thanks mainly to Lewis McManus.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Warwickshire ao 360 leaving Hampshire a tricky 30 minutes before lunch. However since lunch not going well currently 84-4, Daws and Slug batting

Comment by Paul

All looks a bit of a struggle from here (around 5pm). Still not safe.

Comment by pompeypop

Daws batting well.

Comment by Paul

Yes he’s mde a good start. I wondered whether Topley would bat one handed in the tradition of Tennyson, Terry and Marshall but he’s not needed now I guess

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

