Hampshire Cricket History


Did You Know?
April 15, 2016, 10:06 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Here’s an informative kids’ magazine from the first week of May 1963:

Cricket bat

It advertises itself as 4 May and ‘Every Monday’ although 4 May was actually a Saturday in this particular year – 1963. Interestingly, given the shot played, a couple of days before on Wednesday 1 May the first every county knock-out match had taken place in England, resulting in an easy win for Lancashire over Leicestershire (what’s the vertically challenged long stop doing?). This first-ever ‘one day’ match actually took two days because of the rain.

http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Scorecards/25/25997.html

These two sides started the whole thing because they had finished 16th and 17th in the Championship table in 1962 and had to play a preliminary round to reduce the competition to 16 teams. The next round came at the end of the month and after three rounds (16/8/4 teams) Sussex beat Worcs in the Final in September. Hampshire lost to Derbyshire in the first round proper.

 

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Dave, very interesting but can I take slight issue with you regarding the first ever one-day knockout match in England being played in 1963?

I heard a fascinating story on BBC Radio last year about how Mike Turner, the long-time Leicestershire Secretary, devised and arranged a four-team one-day Midlands Knockout Competition in 1962. I’ve done a quick Google search and found the following link which includes the details.
http://www.espncricinfo.com/blogs/content/story/639112.html

Not trying to be pedantic but thought it might be of interest!

Comment by James

Not pedantic at all James and quite correct – indeed I have written about it in “Forever Changes” (p 68). It would have helped if I had specified 1963 as the first match in a competition featuring all the first-class counties rather than just those four – I also suggested a certain sympathy for Mike Turner who had led the way only to see his team the first to be knocked out of the new competition in 1963! These questions of ‘first-ever’ are always a bit complicated. In common with many, I have named the England’s 1971 match v Australia as the first ODI (it is listed as such in the Wisden Book of ODIs by Bill Frindall and Vic Isaacs) but I have recently heard of a limited overs game involving Pakistan in the late 1960s, while this year’s Wisden carries the tale of a triangular tournament with England, West Indies and Rest of the World in September 1966. I suspect someone will soon discover a T20 match featuring WG!

Comment by pompeypop

Well I don’t go back quite as far as WG but when I started playing colts cricket as a 13 year old in the 70s all the games were 20 over matches as I would imagine was the case for many of us.

Little did we realise we were actually playing T20!

(And people think Stuart Robertson invented it!!).

Comment by James

That is interesting. I’m about a decade older and while I played a lot of pretty decent school cricket, never once did I play in any form of ‘limited overs’ – it was always possible to play for a draw, and the same as a student cricketer in the early 1970s. But from around 1980 I played in the Tuesday evening Havant League which was either T20 or (I think) 16 x eight-ball overs – again more than 20 years before county T20. What I cannot recall at all is what my boys played when I was a schoolteacher from 1975 – early 1980s. I think it was probably as you suggest James about 20 overs per side. I had to umpire and score most games but the structure has gone …

Comment by pompeypop

I played my club colts (13-18) cricket in Middlesex so the set-up may have been different. It was almost entirely twenty overs a side evening league games but I loved the longer friendly games that we very occasionally played during the summer holiday afternoons.

Schools cricket tended to be timed games though.

Happy days!

Comment by James

That cover takes me back! We had Look and Learn delivered every week, and I remember that particular issue. Parents liked L&L because it was considered to be “improving”, unlike many of the other comics we would have read given half a chance. It did contain a wide variety of interesting articles, though.

I also persuaded my mother (a lifelong Essex supporter) to pay for Playfair Cricket Monthly every month, which I probably enjoyed more than L&L if truth be told.

Comment by Jonathan Lord

I certainly did Jonathan! I still have the first two years of PCM

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

