Hampshire Cricket History


Some people are on the pitch …
April 23, 2016, 5:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Apologies to any supporters of Aldershot, Bournemouth, Eastleigh, Montrose, Saints (etc) but here are a couple of pictures from my Saturday afternoon:

PFC 4.16

PFC 4.16b

Terry and I have spent the afternoon watching mighty Portsmouth clinch a place in the playoffs. So what you ask? What’s it got to do with cricket? Well we were presenting a Cage Cricket set to the PFC Community organisation, which they are very keen to use with kids in the city. The money is partly from sales of Forever Changes and partly in anticipation of further sales – and if there are even more, as I’ve said before, I’d be very happy to do the same in Southampton – although I might not make the presentation at St Mary’s, if that’s OK?

(Photo: Terry, Claire from Pompey in Community, Ian McInnes Chairman of Pompey and me)

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

And is that a ‘proper’ Hampshire tie you’re wearing?

Comment by Ageas

Indeed it is

Comment by pompeypop

What me again!

Comment by Stephen Saunders

Well done Dave and glad they put on a winning performance for you. In my years of playing and watching football, I’ve supported four of the teams listed by you – Aldershot, Bournemouth, Saints and Pompey – in other words all the Hampshire clubs as a true Hampshire supporter (I know Bournemouth is now in Dorset) and could never really understand the hatred that exists between so many Saints and Pompey fans.
I’m planning to be at Fratton Park tomorrow for the ‘History and Memorabilia Day’, so an early start for me from Essex.

Comment by Dave Wilson

Dave W. – I have little interest in football, but as a Hants cricket fan I’ve always followed the ‘Hampshire’ football teams, if not supported them. I thought I was the only person who followed the Shots, the Cherries, Saints and Pompey: now I know I’m not. And, given the Ageas Bowl location, I have an eye on Eastleigh, who I think have just blown their chances of getting into the Fourth Division, or whatever it’s called these days

Comment by Ageas

Cheers Dave. I enjoy those events but tomorrow is the Portsmouth Area Supporters lunch which does excellent work supporting disabled cricket. You have fun and I hope you find a bargain or two!

Comment by pompeypop

No such luck Dave, there wasn’t very much there other than programmes. I think they need a good historian – any ideas?!!!

Comment by Dave Wilson

Hah! I think my (very tolerant) wife might have a view on that!

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

