Hampshire Cricket History


Lousy Weather
May 18, 2016, 12:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve been at the Ageas Bowl all morning and got quite a lot done, as there was no danger of any cricket. When I left at 12.30 it was pouring but by the time I reached Fareham (on the M27) the skies were brighter and there are even some blue patches and dry pavements in Pompey. I’m not sure whether it will dry up at the ground, but I’ll be surprised if there’s much play for the 2nd XI today.

I did spot this however:

KDJ & Sean E 5 16

I suspect this will be broadcast on Radio Solent as Kevan James interviews Sean Ervine. You can see from his pads and the gear to his side that Sean has been in the nets and told me briefly that his hand seems OK. I noticed Gareth Andrew there along with most of the first team and I wonder whether Ervine for Vince will be the only change on Sunday

Who plays for Notts will depend partly on England’s team tomorrow. If Jake Ball plays in the Test he won’t play against us on Sunday.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I didn’t know but I imagine this interview is about Sean Ervine being appointed captain of Hampshire’s limited overs side. As I suspected the 2nd XI were waterlogged. Nothing happened. There were however a couple of interesting Div One results in what’s looking like a bit of an up-and-down season.

Comment by pompeypop

I’m not sure, but I think they might have got 3 overs in before the rain came back. It finished on 49 overs, and I think it was 46 last night.

Comment by Bob Elliott

I’m not sure, but I think they might have got 3 overs in before the rain came back. It finished on 49 overs, and I think it was 46 last night.
Looking again, perhaps not . . .

Comment by Bob Elliott

Jake Ball will apparently not be playing in the Test (subject to late withdrawals) so will presumably play against us.

Comment by James

Cheers James, not surprised. Notts stuffed today, extraordinary innings by Patel.

Comment by pompeypop

Kev confirmed this morning on Radio Solent, Woody is out for the season . . .

Comment by Bob Elliott




Leave a Reply

