Hampshire Cricket History


Ali Back
May 26, 2016, 12:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hamza Ali has returned and is playing in the 2nd XI’s T20 today. In the first game Sussex scored 152-7 and Gareth Andrew, who took 2-40 is now opening the batting, but there’s no sign of Berg. Afridi starred with 3-21. I’m not sure whether Danny Briggs is playing as only the nine who batted are listed.

PS I was wrong about Berg, although he’s batting but didn’t bowl.

A bit later, Hampshire need 13 to win from 21 balls with four down. McManus 40, Afridi 32, Berg is not out in 40s but the site seems to have seized up. It’s either finished by now or rain stopped play (the sun is blazing down in Pompey but …)

3.10 CricHQ update. Apparently the first match is still “in progress” with Hampshire 140-4 after 16.3 overs chasing 153 to win. However the second match has started with Sussex 20-1 and so far the participants on the scorecard are also those who played the first game – and both matches are on the Nursery Ground. I wish I was there – it sounds a bit like the moment when the clowns run into the circus ring!

Darren Sammy is playing in the second game. Sussex 82-2

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Meanwhile our esteemed official website reports “South African all-rounder Sean Ervine will captain Hampshire at Uxbridge”

Eleven years at Hampshire and they still don’t know where he is from.

Shameful.

Comment by James

Hi guys

Not sure i’m posting this in the right place but i’m after a favour from one of the bloggers please. Could someone please pick up scorecards/programmes for me from the Middlesex matches.
I’d very much appreciate 3 of each. 2 for me and 1 for the Archives. Dosh can be quickly sorted!!

Was hoping to get to Merchant Taylors but passout refused!! Can’t moan too much as she’s really very good overall. Second prize is permission to go to the less important matches on the Bank Holiday Monday of the full day of Yorkshire v Lancashire or till tea at the Test Match at Durham (if not already over!!)

Cheers
Richard

Comment by Richard Griffiths

I’m probably going Sunday OR Monday plus Weds if worth it, so sure thing – but just in case, if there is anyone else out there …

Comment by pompeypop

Thank you kind sir. I presume you’re not going Friday !!

Comment by Richard Griffiths

Oh sorry, missed that – no, Richard, not a chance! I’m quite impressed with myself that I drive as far as the Ageas Bowl for T20!!

Comment by pompeypop

I’m back and should make the game at OMT’s on Monday or Tuesday. I’m not going to Uxbridge, though . .

Comment by Bob Elliott

Hampshire won the first game, and Sussex got 192 in the second game, but I left then . .

Comment by Bob Elliott

Thanks Bob. CricHQ seems to have fallen asleep again. Sammy best bowling in game 2

Comment by pompeypop

Hampshire won second game as well, 2 wins in a day – Whoopie!

Comment by John West

I will be at Uxbridge, Mungu akipenda

Comment by ageas

If you could pick up 3 scorecards/programmes for me I would be most grateful. Sithee at Durham or Warwickshire. Bob’s great for me at Home matches and I get to part of most ‘proper cricket’ away matches but really struggle for items from away T20 and one day matches as they are regionalised. Asante

Comment by Richard Griffiths

Richard – I should be at the first two days of Durham, unless the forecast is dire – David

Comment by Ageas




Leave a Reply

