Hampshire Cricket History


Commemorations
June 24, 2016, 8:46 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Recently I posted some information about cricketers at the Battle of Jutland and in 2014 we put up the Cricketers Honours Board (WW1 & 2)

At the end of the First World War, WB Yeats wrote a remarkable poem which seems to me might have resonance today. I’m absolutely not making a political point here, I’m simply intrigued how some things can echo down the decades.

If you’d like to read it

http://www.potw.org/archive/potw351.html

If you’ve had enough of it all, normal service will be resumed shortly!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dave, you take me back. ‘Things fall apart’ by Chinua Achebe is an African classic, and was a set book during all of my ten years teaching in Tanzania. The title page included the third line of Yeats’s poem. As I taught chemistry, every time a student dropped a test tube, there would be a chorus of “things fall apart” – followed by “the centre cannot hold”. I’m afraid it’s rather blunted my appreciation of Yeats’s poem

Comment by Ageas

Nice story! No wonder it was always so difficult teaching the arts!

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

