Hampshire Cricket History


Remarkable
July 15, 2016, 10:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was doing a gig tonight. We went on pretty much as the Hampshire innings ended and I thought with that total they were unlikely to win. When I looked a bit later Sussex seemed on course for victory but they weren’t were they? Boy, I bet they’re fed up with Hampshire!

I missed all the excitement but I am very pleased. I never care over much about T20 – happy if we win it, but otherwise … but I thought in the circumstances and with the youngsters playing, last night was a bit special, and tonight I guess was equally impressive. Wouldn’t it be nice if it signalled a turnaround in everyone’s fortunes, the team, the injured players and especially MC?

Incidentally I reckon the next few fixtures really do rule out any possibility of Hampshire qualifying (Middx v Surrey, Essex v Sussex, Surrey v Sussex, Kent v Essex, Middx v Essex etc) even if some end up as ‘one-pointers’. But the good news is that means those younger players can keep gaining experience.

Well played!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

By the way Hampshire equalled their narrowest ever T20 runs victory (v Lancs at the Ageas Bowl 2013)

Comment by pompeypop

I’ve just checked that card. At 109-3 Sussex needed 26 to win from 29 balls with seven wickets left. That’s crazy to lose from there! I’m recalling how they grumbled about the abandoned game at the Ageas Bowl but I reckon they were lucky they got one point. Sad to see Danny Briggs not selected though.

Comment by pompeypop

Made the trip and was rewarded with a thrilling finish. Teams and bowlers with ten times the experience wouldn’t have defended that. Guessed defending 5 off the last over would be a T20 record? A marvellous win and one to remember for years to come.

Comment by Ian

What really pleased me over the two days was the number of youngsters playing and getting experience, not only against first class players but also getting that winning mentality. Just maybe it is the start of Hampshire’s new beginning whatever division we are in at Championship and T20 level.

Comment by Ron Griffiths

I was very pleased with the bowling of Wheal particularly at the death. We got lucky with the penultimate ball not being called a wide. However, with the bad luck we’ve had with injuries this season we deserve a change of fortune. Afridi’s last 12 overs have gone for just 43. With our batsmen in form at Chester-le_Street and Birmingham I’m hoping for a positive result against Surrey to get us off the bottom of the table.

Comment by Tigger

Let’s hope so Tigger – it’s good to feel a bit positive at last!

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

