Hampshire Cricket History


Goin’ Back
July 23, 2016, 8:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

And so the misery goes on (from the Club):

“After two and a half seasons as Hampshire Cricket’s Head Coach, with mutual agreement and with immediate effect, Dale Benkenstein has left his position due to family reasons.

Benkenstein, who led the club to two NatWest T20 Blast Finals Days and 4 day promotion during his tenure, said “I have loved every minute of my time at Hampshire. I’d like to thank everyone at the Club, from the players to the coaching and office staff and of course the supporters, for making me feel so welcome.

“It is with genuine regret that I leave at this time but the extended periods of separation from my family responsibilities in South Africa have become increasingly more difficult for me and my wife and they need to be my priority at this time. I wish the team every success for the remainder of the season and beyond and I would like to place on record, my sincere thanks to Giles White and the Management team for the honourable way in which they have handled this situation.”

Hampshire Cricket’s Director of Cricket, Giles White said “We are naturally disappointed to be losing Dale at this stage of the season.  However, we have been aware of the difficulties he has encountered and understand his decision to step down. He has worked tirelessly over the last two and a half seasons and we would like to thank him for all of his hard work and wish him well for the future.”

Until further notice, Dale’s first XI coaching responsibilities will be absorbed by the other members of the professional coaching team.”

I said to a Director of the plc yesterday that the only thing a Hampshire historian can contribute in years like this is to confirm that there has never been a season like it – I begin to wonder too whether it will come to an end before September – is there more to endure? I know Dale Benkenstein didn’t get ‘universal’ approval among our supporters, but I found him always to be pleasant and willing to communicate. As a coach I think he was mostly quietly tough – and some of the players couldn’t match his toughness. We’ve seen that this week, but I wonder whether like Michael Carberry, personal circumstances made it very difficult to produce his best consistently if his mind was on other more important things.

 

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My own view on him and his departure is the following:

A lot of his critics seem to forget this but that when he arrived in early 2014 we had just had two mid table finishes in division 2 preceded by two seasons of relegation battles in division 1. He brought about the improvement to get Hampshire promoted at the first attempt and of course helped keep us up. I don’t feel he got enough credit for that.

I appreciate that often he made controversial and baffling decisions but he made the side tough to beat as evidenced by the amount of fight backs made in the last few years. Of course in the ideal world we wouldn’t have had to battle back so often.

Bearing in mind he also had to do all of this whilst being away from his family so much perhaps explains some things and bet he has been under so much pressure from all sides.

This season hasn’t gone how anyone wanted but I wish him well and grateful for his part in promotion at Cardiff and the Great escape at TB.

Comment by Ian Pearce

Cheers Ian – very good.

Comment by pompeypop

Listen (I hope this works – interesting that he mentions ‘Tommo’ as an emerging coach)

It’s on Twitter

audioboom.com/boos/4852441-listen-hantscricket-coach-dale-benkenstein-on-why-he-s-returning-to-south-africa

Comment by pompeypop

If that link doesn’t work, you can read bits here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cricket/36873875

Comment by pompeypop

The whole interview is due to be played on Solent’s sports hour from 2pm today.

Comment by joster69

I think this might be good news for everyone.

Comment by James

From the BBC article ….

“I made a decision that I wouldn’t be coming back next year, I was fully committed to this season and wanted to give them enough time to think about next year.

“It isn’t possible for my family to come over for numerous reasons so I wanted to go back again for a week and we were trying to look for a gap.

“Giles thought about it and felt the best thing for me and the best thing for the club is for me to go home now. When he put that option on the table I knew it was definitely the right thing to do.”

Very telling!

Comment by James




Leave a Reply

