Hampshire Cricket History


Here I Go Again
August 4, 2016, 6:28 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

(Another Groundhog Day?)

There’s a full programme of Div One matches starting today and the weather looks ok, at least down here. A draw and decent haul of points gets us close to Notts and this is our game in hand (they’re the ones not playing). It is however another 10 points beyond that to catch Surrey, while Somerset are 33 points away.

It seems to me that the other problem is that those two sides have been significantly better than us in recent meetings and unless Tino suddenly clicks into gear I can’t see us taking 20 wickets.

I hope I’m wrong but whereas my ‘predictions’ last year were based on extraordinary coincidences with our previous great escape, this year it’s just down to the cricket. Trying to think as an ‘outsider’, I don’t think we look good enough to survive. I just hope I’m wrong.

It’s a busy couple of days ahead. Today our Vice Presidents and Life VPs have their annual ‘do’ and there might be some players there, since we elected our two teams of Champions Life VPs. Tomorrow, however is the Players’ annual reunion, so more expected there. In addition, today is the funeral and memorial service for my predecessor Neil Jenkinson (Winchester) and tomorrow the same for VP/ex-Committee member Colin Campbell in Aldershot.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

