Hampshire Cricket History


Man of Mystery
August 7, 2016, 7:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

(Shadows, instrumental)

I’m not sure whether anyone was listening to my commentary with Kevan after tea today? There was a story sent in by Warwick from Christchurch that I believe he heard from Alan Castell. It concerned a famous Aussie batsman, dismissed by a part-time Hampshire leg-spinner, after hitting him for four & six – and having scored a big century. I was interested in the name of the ‘leggie’ but I cannot find any evidence that it ever happened, and now I’ve confused myself about the name of the batsman. Can anyone remember?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Bill Ponsford?

Comment by Jeremy

I think it was. I’ll check again. Cheers Jeremy

Comment by pompeypop

I checked him. Ponsford played twice v Hampshire at Southampton scoring 29 & 25. It’s why I got confused last night because I could not find any appropriate Aussie centurions to match the story (I knew it wasn’t Bradman). Maybe the details were wrong, or maybe it’s another of those myths …

Comment by pompeypop

Wouldn’t have been able to remember the name but seeing Jeremy write it that does sound right…….

Comment by joster69

Cheers Jo – I think it was. Unless therefore I misunderstood on air, it probably is a myth .. which is a shame because it was a good story.

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

