Hampshire Cricket History


Six Days On The Road
August 16, 2016, 12:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

(It rather felt like it this morning. There are lots of versions – I’m rather fond of Taj Mahal’s)

Well I kept my promise not to listen, although at lunch things are not going that well (and Surrey have Warwicks in trouble)

I mentioned Chichester. I have a dentist there on the eastern side – long story, not interesting – to which I have to drive. It’s about 18 miles each way. I left this morning at 10am for an 11am appointment, arrived 15 mins late, was squeezed in for a quick scrape and polish, left again at 11.30 and arrived home at 1pm, in time for the lunch score. No medium wave in the car so I couldn’t have listened anyway. I travelled less than 40 miles in two-and-three quarter hours; an average speed of less than 15 mph. The A27 was almost gridlocked.

One of the reasons I go to far fewer away games these days is that I have grown to hate car driving with a vengeance. It’s why I favoured Hove in the days when there were trains, and if the Ageas Bowl was nearer to a station, I’d probably not bother owning a car!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Daws in ODI squad Vince not!
http://www.ageasbowl.com/cricket/news/dawson-named-in-england-squad-for-ageas-bowl-odi/

Comment by Paul

I guess Daws going makes room in the Hants side for him to return although that weakens the bowling.

Comment by Dave Allen

and the batting!

Comment by James

Griffiths has 3-71 for 2nds v Sussex but the opposition are scoring lots of runs and someone appears to have gone off injured (lots of bits of overs)

Comment by Dave Allen




Leave a Reply

