Hampshire Cricket History


Open the Door to Your …
August 26, 2016, 1:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

… Friends?

Every now and then I get notifications of new ‘followers’ (and no I’m not the Messiah, just a very naughty boy)

So today it’s someone called Northernsoulweb

Welcome, sir “Walk right on in”.

What do the Twist and 60s Tamla and Soul/ Northern Soul have in common?

It’s the only stuff I ever dance to

Indeed I do

(Sorry, if distracted. Cricket looks like the early 1950s – safe, but a bit dull)

PS I told you they shouldn’t pick Ervine!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Are we talking Darrell Banks circa 1966 here, Dave?

Comment by Neil M

What a cracker! I have a mate with an original 45 rpm which is worth a bit. I have it on CD, which isn’t!

Comment by pompeypop

At the risk of boring the non-Northern Soul fans that follow this blog, is that on the Revilot label? If it’s an original on the London label then he’s sitting on a goldmine. The only known copy on the London label sold for £14,500 a couple of years ago.

I didn’t realise you were a Northern Soul/Motown fan. Given your current lack of enthusiasm for the cricket maybe I should ask you to “Keep the Faith”

Comment by Neil M

Northern Soul? You can’t beat this by Doris Troy.

I’ll Do Anything (for a win?)

Comment by James

Here we go then – proper music! I’m wondering whether I exaggerated the story about my pal although he certainly has it from the days of Pompey’s legendary Birdcage Club 1965-1967. As for me, first serious band I was ever in, was an eight-piece with saxes, trumpet etc playing all that classic stuff – called Harlem Speakeasy, one single on Polydor, 1968, “Aretha” cover of original by the Drifters. Lovely days …

Is there some cricket on?

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

