Hampshire Cricket History


May Be The Last Time
September 7, 2016, 4:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t know

But I do recall quite clearly a previous debut hundred for Hampshire against Surrey at the Oval by one of my favourite Hampshire cricketers:

DR Turner 181* in 1969

1969 .jpg

Hampshire CCC at the Oval 1969 (‘Butch’ still asleep after a lively weekend)

(Did I mention before that I think Tom Alsop “seems quite promising”? I did? Well it seems that he is)

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was at the Oval that day in 1969 and remember the innings well. Let’s hope this is the first of many for Tom Alsop.

Comment by Jonathan Lord

Yes indeed Jonathan. I really do like him

Comment by pompeypop

Indeed. He seems to be a proper batsman in that he is prepared to graft for his runs.

Comment by James

I was at the oval today to watch Tom get his maiden 1st class century. It was a fantastic innings – sorry, it IS a fantastic innings with, I believe, only one chance given. Well done, Tom. I have watched Tom for several years now, through academy, 2nd XI and 1st XI and have always thought highly of him – and let us not forget his other skill!

Comment by John West

I think he’s given that up, but I suppose he would be the reserve at present if anything happens to Lewis. I suspect he’s made the right decision though – three half-centuries and a century in his last six Championship matches.

Comment by pompeypop

And don’t forget his bowling!

Comment by James

Terrific day at the Oval. All the youngsters have impressed this year – thrown in at the deep end but kept their composure. Yesterday we saw an extraordinary catch from McManus, fortunately almost captured on video on Twitter. (I say almost as by the time he makes the catch he is entirely out of shot – legs feet and all – as he has dived so far). And Wheal, having bowled wickedness for 300 runs picked up a six-fer and now 4 more in Surrey’s first innings.
Real skill, real spirit
Despite another Southern strike I am looking forward to the story continuing tomorrow

Comment by Ageas

I know what you meant but I think you should copyright the idea of Wheal bowling with “wickedness”!

Comment by Dave Allen




Leave a Reply

