Hampshire Cricket History


Durham Pull Away
September 13, 2016, 5:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

At the close tonight (Day Two) Durham are already 13 points ahead of Hampshire with one more bowling point available. If they win they will be out of sight, a draw and they will be 18 or 19 points ahead – with just 24 to play for next week.

Lancashire are less happy. They have three bowling points and have recovered v Middlesex, but that might be it for them in which case both they and Warwickshire would go into next week on 156 points, eight ahead of Hampshire.

Meanwhile, we’ve signed a young man from Durham:

“Hampshire Cricket are pleased to announce the signing of promising all-rounder Asher Hart. The 19-year-old, who had previously been on Durham’s books having represented their Academy and Second XI sides throughout this year, will join the squad ahead of the 2017 season.”

We’ve never had an Asher before (although there were a couple of notable ones in the 1960s) – now we just need someone called Duster.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

According to Cricinfo full name Asher Hale-bopp Joseph Arthur Hart. Looking forward to seeing that on the players board!

Comment by James

On another subject I see 2017 memberships are now on sale. For 2016 I paid £145 for standard (Championship & One Day Cup) membership which included £30 early-bird, £15 direct debit and £10 country (outside Hampshire) discounts. For 2017 the website says the cost is £170 with a £10 country discount available. There is no mention of any other discounts.

So if this is all correct I will be paying and extra £15 for one less Championship game and most likely lower division cricket. Then there is the exorbitant parking season ticket. I’m not impressed!

Comment by James

I believe that if you pay by direct debit you’ll still get the extra discount, but we’ll have to wait for the paper version to be sure.

Comment by Ageas

I’m a Life Member so I’ll go on ‘belonging’ (although to what I’m less sure) – but for the first time I’ve begun to wonder whether I would still join. I probably would but for some years now I’ve paid an Exec Membership for my wife who rarely comes. She thinks I’m bonkers, and next year I won’t pay it and I will tell them it is specifically because they’ve cut the number of Championship days. They do record/report on such reasons.

Comment by pompeypop

Well James, at least no-one can accuse you of having voted for whoever raised the price of your Cult cricket 26% per day, before adjusting for the devalued quality!

When we were relegated before, subs stayed the same, but someone slithered through a £20 increase in the car park charge.

Comment by Jeremy

Vote? Now there’s a novel idea Jeremy!

I’m just glad that the term member remains. I feared it would be re-branded as annoyance which would of course make Dave a Life Annoyance!

Give it time.

Comment by James

I’m told by the ticket office that the direct debit discount remains and that there has been a £5 increase in prices.

However the website makes no mention of the direct-debit discount.

I gather we should be receiving our renewal packs in the next few days so all will probably be clear then – but not it seems to new members!

Comment by James




Leave a Reply

