Hampshire Cricket History


Simply the Best
September 19, 2016, 6:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

A certain lovely young man has sent me this message. I didn’t ask, but since it’s for you guys too I guess he won’t mind me sending it on. It’s just lovely:

“Just wanted to thank everyone on your blog for their kind comments. I have had a brilliant week ‘trending, going viral and breaking the Internet’.
I really hope we stay up next week. I do believe we have the squad (when fit) to compete at the top level. I wanted to reassure everyone that although it may not feel this way, Succeeding in the longer form of the game has always been the main focus of the team each season throughout my career. Even with all the current news speculation and reduction of championship cricket, I don’t see this changing…. Fingers crossed.
On a personal note, It’s called first class cricket for a reason and I’m determined to find and help as many local, ‘home grown’ first class bowlers as I can over the next…..however long it takes!
All the best and thanks once again.”
Thank you too ‘Tommo’ – and I agree with the point about the squad. It’s been a year of quite extraordinary (and unprecedented) ill fortune, but the silver lining is a group of promising youngsters
6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ve only ever seen him from 50 yards away, but he does seem to be on of the good guys, both in his cricket and in these comments. Thanks for reporting this.

Comment by Dave Pople

Go and shake his hand Dave; he’s delightful

Comment by pompeypop

First class comments from a first class man. All the very best to you and your family in the future Tommo!

Comment by James

Dave, You know my views about the products of the Hampshire Academy – batsmen, spin bowlers, wicketkeepers aplenty, but what has happened to the faster bowlers? I think that they have been there, but have presumably not made the grade. Perhaps the missing link has now joined the chain.

Comment by John West

Yes indeed, let’s hope so. In fairness you could argue we have hardly produced one from the time we entered the Championship in 1895. Kennedy was fast-medium (although excellent), a couple of one/two season wonders, Chris Tremlett who had distinct advantages and ‘Tommo’ himself (but not ‘fast’). It’s not just the north either – what about Maurice Tate, Neil Foster, John Snow, Graham Dilley, Bob Willis from Guildford etc … At Hampshire, Kevin Emery, Jim Bovill, Simon Francis, Tom Barber …

Comment by pompeypop

Tom Alsop and Liam Dawson announced in Lions Squad.

Comment by Ian




Leave a Reply

