Hampshire Cricket History


Thank You
October 5, 2016, 10:19 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s not difficult to discover horror stories in the media about the modern use of ‘social media’, with people using dreadful, aggressive language and indulging in personal abuse. In the past I have been involved in ‘cutting edge’ media/IT courses and had many discussions with students about these matters – to a degree I find some tolerance of this among younger people that I don’t share.

When I started this Blog I thought it would mostly look back, albeit acknowledging that history starts just a moment ago. Recently, most of what we have discussed are two controversial topics which impact on us all significantly as supporters clearly passionate about our county game.

As a consequence there are a variety of views and opinions on this site and I welcome them all, but most of all I’m very grateful for the manner in which those views are presented, engaged with and shared. I’d like to hope with each post/comment that collectively we are coming to a clearer and more meaningful understanding of the issues. I’m not always sure these days about the ‘Spirit of Cricket’ which I value greatly, but is not always apparent in the corridors of power or on the great cricketing occasions. But I think there probably is a ‘Spirit of the Blog’ and I thank you all for it.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Rod B states the obvious and the BBC construct a news story: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cricket/37562890

Perhaps Miles Davis had a title for it: “In a Silent Way”

Comment by pompeypop

I’m beginning to despair of these public utterances and am incredibly embarrassed, sadly a request for some dignified silence would likely be met with – ‘It never entered my mind’

Comment by Richard Taylor

I think that until either the Oval or Lord’s does not get an Ashes test The Ageas Bowl will remain an Ashes free ground.

Comment by Bob Murrell

Once again our Chairman uses Durham’s plight to pursue Hampshire Corporate Cricket’s agenda. How much better if he had just maintained a dignified silence.

As for Dave’s “Thank You” piece I can only say that as far as I can see we only follow the example he sets so well.

(When I say “we” I am well aware I slip up from time to time!).

Comment by James

Have to say Rod’s comments are unhelpful he wouldn’t do very well in the diplomatic service.

Comment by Paul

Having spent many years as a civil servant, one of the hardest things to do was to persuade Ministers to say nothing. Rod’s quotes on Durham and on the chances of an Ashes test were both largely truisms, but they came across as gloating, partly because of the sound bite way they were presented.
He needs an Ageas to advise him when it’s best to say nowt.

Comment by Ageas

Need a like button!

Comment by Paul




Leave a Reply

