Hampshire Cricket History


Leo Harrison RIP
October 12, 2016, 9:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

One of Hampshire’s great cricketers Leo Harrison died this morning at the age of 94. He was born in Mudeford (when it was in Hampshire) and lived his life there. His death leaves JE Manners (Hampshire) as the only surviving pre-war first-class cricketer. He kept wicket in the great Championship-winning side of 1961. I will offer a more complete tribute but wished to post the sad news, which I’ve just heard, and invite memories of the lovely bloke who might have once said “it ain’t half a blooming game”. The first photo below shows him in his debut season of 1939:

harrison-leoharrison-l-1939-1966

 

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A very odd thing has happened. Leo’s page has disappeared from Cricket Archive. I have tried various routes but while I can locate him on specific scorecards his home page is no longer there, while others are still.

Comment by pompeypop

I have had the same problem with the Cricket Archive site. You might like to know that we have written our own little tribute to Leo, as one of the great characters beloved of John Arlott, on our messageboard.
We also wish you many happy returns today!

Comment by HHSussex

Very kind Sussex guys – many thanks!

Comment by pompeypop

He will always be ‘the’ Hampshire wicketkeeper to me. I was too young to judge his abilities when I saw him, but if he was good enough for ‘Shack’, that’ll do.
94 is a good innings.
RIP

Comment by Dave Pople

Sad news indeed. It had me thinking about how many were left of the first Hampshire team I knew in the late 50s. Jimmy Gray, Denis Baldry, Mike Barnard, Alan Wassell and Malcolm Heath are still around I think. There are of course others who had already dropped out of the XI.

Different times I know, but I wonder whether his batting would have been good enough in today’s environment. As it was he was unchallenged until Bryan Timms came along.

Comment by Ian Laidlaw




Leave a Reply

