Hampshire Cricket History


Richard Gilliat
December 9, 2016, 7:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Some time ago, at the Ageas Bowl, I met a man who wished to publish a book about the Gilliat family, and he asked me to write a chapter about Richard Gilliat as a cricketer.

I did that, but the publication met with all kinds of difficulties – until recently and unexpectedly I learned it was to be published after all.

Today I received my complimentary copy which acknowledges my help with photographs but does not mention my writing and has a chapter on Richard which is not mine

I have no idea why this has happened, but it seems a shame to have gone to such an effort to have the thing simply discarded, so, if anyone reading this would like me to email a copy (word document) I’ll be happy to do so. I don’t put copyright restrictions on my writing these days so feel free to share it.

Requests for a copy to dave.allen@port.ac.uk please

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

http://www.espncricinfo.com/england/content/story/1062221.html
Well, well, well!

Comment by Paul

Interesting but two months old Paul!

Comment by James

So it is, didn’t check the date.

Comment by Paul

Gilliat.
This is an illuminating read. RG clearly didn’t have a trouble free tenure on or off the field. I’d also forgotten how many times we could have been champions.
Many thanks.

Comment by Chas C

Many thanks Chas – 1973-1975 Hampshire’s finest side. Mike Taylor will say they should have won all three.

Comment by pompeypop

In the days when the BBC covered Sunday League matches, Peter Walker who introduced the programme, would interview someone in the tea interval. There was a match at Portsmouth when RG was interviewed, and I can recall him speaking happily about Monday mornings and would you like to go to work or play cricket?

It might well have been his last season and his comments rather retrospective in nature.

Comment by stephenfh




Leave a Reply

