Hampshire Cricket History


The Cook’s left
February 6, 2017, 12:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Who’s next into the kitchen? I assume it will be Joe Root but I’m not convinced he’s a long-term bet. Is he up to it? Will it upset his run-scoring. Maybe – although I wish him well.

But if James Vince is ever to get back into international cricket, captaincy might be the answer. He impresses me as a captain.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Something of interest possibly. Kyle Abbott is entered in the IPL auction at a base price of 1.5 Crore which is about 200k. Last year he went for much more so will be keeping a close eye as it has a big impact for Hampshire.

Comment by Ian

Aha – off we go then. We sign lots of people from far away and … I heard a whisper George Bailey might not be around all summer and presumably Fidel will spend some time in the WIT20. Maybe I’ll do the same with my loyalty and commitment …

Comment by pompeypop

I am not sure if Bailey is in the auction but there is something like 600 cricketers going into it so there is a fair chance he is one of them. Last year he wasn’t picked up initially but got a deal due to some injury withdrawals.

As he has a contract with Hampshire he may be unable to join up in that circumstance. My gut feel is that we would probably see him for a lot of the season as I notice he has not been in the last two ODI squads for Australia.

Comment by Ian

I note a piece on BBC today by Agnew saying Cook had the toughest time of any England captain. I wonder whether, proportionally, with Central Contracts etc, he played the least county cricket and earned the most money?

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

