Hampshire Cricket History


Not Me Then
February 20, 2017, 6:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve just seen Craig David on TV from the Ageas Bowl with “some amazing news for all the Southamptoners (?) out there”, about the gig he will do at the ground in September. The reporter told us it will be his “first show in his home city”.

For around 20 years now, since I was (then) Chairman of Portsmouth Area Supporters of Hampshire County Cricket Club, I’ve tried to persuade people that since ceasing to play in Portsmouth (2000), Hampshire Cricket are not now exclusively based in Southampton. It’s not very sensible that some Pompey people deprive themselves of county cricket because of an aversion to the city along the coast (frequently reciprocated of course) but I meet that view quite frequently around the city; to which I reply that the ground is in Eastleigh – both the Council and the Parliamentary Constituency – and the club is supported, the ground part-owned by Eastleigh Council

But that story above won’t help me to win the argument.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Don’t let facts and details get in way of a good 😕story….

Comment by John Cottrell

Very much agree Dave – and I’m a Saints s/t holder

Comment by Keith Fray

Thanks Keith – mind you it’ll be my regular quiz question after September: ‘Name the last Southampton born bloke to play at the Ageas Bowl’

Comment by pompeypop

Call me a philistine but I’ve never heard of Craig Davis. Is he a Kolpak?

Comment by Hedgehog

Oh dear, maybe that`s because you are looking for the wrong name…it`s Craig David. He was the little kid in the Royle Family I think.

Comment by Brian JS

My a..e

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

