Hampshire Cricket History


An Irony
March 12, 2017, 10:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

As far as I’m aware there won’t be a Hampshire Handbook this year – pretty well the first time in living memory (any out there recall the season of 1948?)

Even as the editor, I began to think increasingly that the extensive and most significant work Bob Murrell did on scorecards, stats and records could almost entirely be found on Cricket Archive. Many of the significant records are also on Tigger’s website, but not the full cards (2nd XI etc as well)

It’s still there of course, but now it will cost the equivalent of three Handbooks each year!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

No handbook is a great pity.

I don’t remember Hampshire ever including a handbook as part of the membership “offer” but some counties certainly have, and I think still do. Perhaps declining membership has made the guaranteed advertising to a desirable niche insufficiently attractive to help towards, if not cover, costs?

Comment by Jeremy

I have it on good authority – Tim Tremlett and Bob Murrell – that there will be a Handbook, however it will be mainly statistics and hardly any articles. I wait to see in order to believe.

Comment by Stephen Saunders

Interesting, when I asked a few people about it, I received just one response which was effectively ‘nothing known’. As the former editor, I did offer my help which never got any kind of response, so maybe I assumed there would not be one somewhat prematurely.

Comment by pompeypop

It does seem a little strange that you weren’t even consulted.

Comment by James

I wish I did find it strange – sadly these days I don’t.

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

