Hampshire Cricket History


Going/Staying
March 14, 2017, 10:11 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Good news long-term, but it means just three Hampshire-born players available for selection this year (Adams, Taylor & Wood):

“Hampshire Cricket are pleased to announce that batsman Joe Weatherley has signed a new contract extension with the club. The 20-year-old has inked a new deal keeping him at the Ageas Bowl until at least the end of the 2019 season. As part of the extension, Weatherley will also join Kent on a season-long deal which will allow him the opportunity to develop his game with Sam Northeast’s outfit.

Joe Weatherley said: “I’m ecstatic! Hampshire is where I want to be playing my cricket – it’s a really exciting club to be around and I’m chuffed to be a part of that for the coming years. An opportunity came up at Kent which will allow me to get some good cricket under my belt and there’s potentially more playing opportunities there this season. Long-term my future is with Hampshire but given the strength of the side on paper this year, this works really well to help with developing my game.”

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think this is a sensible move for all concerned and I hope Joe thrives with Kent.

Comment by moggahooller

Me too, thank you and (I think) welcome to the Blog

Comment by pompeypop

As long as he doesn’t have too many nights out with Mr Coles!

Comment by James




Leave a Reply

