Hampshire Cricket History


So it begins
March 29, 2017, 8:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

For the first time in about 25 years I won’t be at the AGM/Forum and I’m not likely to be watching much cricket this year at the Ageas Bowl. The reasons are too complicated to bother with and some of you know anyway. It’s not particularly to do with what’s happening to English cricket although that hasn’t helped – in broad terms I’ll say simply that I don’t feel comfortable with the thought of being at the Ageas Bowl these days.

When this ‘blew up’ at the end of last season, some of you asked that whatever else might happen, I would keep the Blog going. That was very kind and I’m happy to do so for as long as it’s of interest.

There is however, a change looming, because I’m not likely to be posting up-to-date reports or photos of things happening to Hampshire – and that starts tonight with whatever might emerge at the meeting. As a consequence, I am very happy to post anything relevant that you might wish to send. You can of course simply add that as a Comment to anything I post, but if you’d like it to be a main post (written or pictorial) you can send to me by email** and I’ll stick it up there, and be pleased to do so

Cheers

** dave.allen@port.ac.uk

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s a real shame and, in particular I am sure I speak for many when I say that I and many many others will miss your special contributions to the ball by ball radio commentaries.

Comment by Peter Jeffs

Me too. Hope you change your mind and come and join us on the terraces . . .

Comment by Bob Elliott

Ditto the comments on commentary. The perfect balance between Kevin James’ raw enthusiasm and the DA’s circumspect thoughtful comments. But never say never.

Comment by Chas C

I will definitely miss our chats and do hope to see you sometime during the summer. Visits to the ‘Bowl’ and the long journey involved have less appeal with each passing year but discussing the cricket and our joint memories of ‘Pompey’ and its past history helped to make it worthwhile. Keep in touch Dave and very best wishes to you and Mrs.A.

Comment by Dave Wilson




Leave a Reply

