Hampshire Cricket History

Cricketers of the Year
April 5, 2017, 9:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Wisden nominates its five players for performances in England in the previous year, and you can only get the award once. This year (for 2016) it has gone to Chris Woakes, Toby Roland-Jones, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan and Ben Duckett. The latter had a fine season in Division Two and a pretty lousy winter (which doesn’t count, but …)

Since much is made of the award (we have a board now at Hampshire, honouring ours) it would be interesting to pull together a list of people who, by comparison, never got it. I’ll start with ‘Butch’ White, Richard Gilliat, Mark Nicholas, Tim Tremlett, Dimi Mascarenhas, Michael Carberry, Jimmy Adams, and Nic Pothas – wondering how often wicketkeepers are so honoured.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A reference point for you if you do not already have it

Comment by Ron Griffiths

Cheers Ron. One of those lists that makes the heroes of my youth seem like giants, but I wonder … No doubt there was an old bloke in 1959 muttering about the selection of Shackleton and Marshall!

Comment by pompeypop

Most recently wicketkeepers every year from 2009 to 2012 Dave! (OK 2012 is maybe pushing it a bit).

Comment by James

Bother! Another campaign bites the dust.

Comment by Dave Allen

I’m disappointed with you Dave. Haven’t you learnt anything from our betters at the ECB? You have to totally ignore the facts and keep campaigning!

Comment by James

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: