Hampshire Cricket History

From Way Back
April 19, 2017, 9:06 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve recently received this photo from a man called Brian Greening who does research into cricket history. I’ve been able to locate it with some certainty as Hampshire v Surrey at Bournemouth, late August 1948, when Surrey finished runners-up to Glamorgan.

It’s 5.50pm and Surrey are taking the field, so it must be day two (Monday 30th) after Hampshire followed-on:


On the left is Bedser of course. But which one? Having once lunched with both at Guildford, I can state with complete confidence that it’s Alec. Next to him I’m pretty sure is JP Parker – a Saturday centurion – the wicketkeeper is Arthur McIntyre, who ended his days living in the New Forest, and on the right Jim Laker.

Incidentally if you think I’m a smart-arse, it’s simple; Eric Bedser didn’t play. Incidentally Brian wishes to know whether I can identify the Gent chatting to McIntyre but I can’t. Any ideas?

Surrey 449-7 dec beat Hants 269 & 153 by an innings and 27 runs. Lofty Herman took 2-75 and scored 21 & 27 in his final first-class match. McMahon took 10-150 in the match.

Bournemouth was blessed with three consecutive matches to finish that season. In the first Glamorgan beat Hampshire to clinch the title, in the second, fourth-placed Yorkshire won by 10 wickets, and the final one was this defeat v Surrey. Despite that, Playfair reported Hampshire’s ninth place as “most encouraging” – and they were the only county side to take a first innings lead against the ‘invincible’ Aussies.

Derek Shackleton in his first season took 21 wickets at around 30 apiece. He played a solitary match (after retiring) in 1969, but throughout the rest of his career from 1949, he would take 100+ first-class wickets, every year for 20 consecutive seasons; an unbreakable world record.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Interesting to see the ground without the stand that was subsequently put up to the right, adjacent to the Cowshed…who would have thought it was that modern!

IIRC Glamorgan also won the title in 1969, with a controversial match at DP, when one team had left the ground having given up on the weather, the other not being awarded a win when they came out again, but challenged and the decision reversed later??.

Comment by stephenfh

That’s right Stephen, it was reversed, which was good because Glams could not be accused of winning the title by such a ‘result’

About four years earlier there was another somewhat controversial result v Worcs at Bournemouth, when they bowled us out in about two overs and went on to win the title …

Fortunately 1 September 1961 was straightforward!

Comment by pompeypop

I have looked at that Worcestershire score card. The interesting thing I noted is the number of overs bowled on the first day. Worcestershire 1st innings 114.4, not sure about Hampshire’s number of overs but at 28-1 must have been about 7 at least, so over 120 overs, 11 wickets in I guess 6 hours. I assume the playing hours were 11:30 to 6:30. How times have changed!

Comment by Bob Murrell

Yes indeed Bob – top pace bowlers on both sides and fixed times, giving exactly six hours play with no overtime. Now we get 20+ overs fewer and usually in a longer time. In fact 120 overs in a day would come to more overs in THREE days, than Hants and Middx managed in FOUR this week!

Comment by pompeypop

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: