Hampshire Cricket History


As Andy Williams once sang
April 25, 2017, 8:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

“Almost there, we’re almost there”

Aldershot Town FC that is

It’s been a pretty good year for Hampshire football clubs – Saints, Pompey, Bournemouth of course (Dorset? 1961? 1973? 1978?) Havant & Waterlooville and now the ‘Shots’ who will have to make a pig’s ear of Saturday to miss out on the play-offs.

Well done. Good luck

Right, back to the cricket … as I was saying …

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Spoken like a true Hampshire supporter! Like you, I have always supported all the Hampshire teams and am particularly pleased that ‘the shots’ (barring accidents) will be in the play-offs. I used to watch them 1940’s/1950’s in the old Div.3 south, as we lived nearby in Farnham in those days.
Sorry I missed you at ‘the Bowl’ last weekend. I was there Saturday and Sunday and hoped to see you.

Comment by Dave Wilson

Sorry to have missed you too Dave. I’m still not feeling that fussed about the cricket but sitting out as a punter – which I did for the first 35 years – was rather delightful, especially meeting up with so many people who I often missed when commentating, archiving and generally being ‘busy’. I have a couple of the 50 overs games in my diary next – although not next Weds as it’s my Wedding Anniversary (!!)

Comment by pompeypop

Thanks Dave for the mention of the Shots and the excitement has returned after 4 difficult seasons.

I think Farnborough have also made the playoffs whilst Hartley Wintney have won the Combined Counties League for the second year in a row.

Comment by Ian

Cheers Ian and good luck. More good news. Better not mention too much about Mrs A’s home-town Gosport though …

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

