Hampshire Cricket History


Cricketing Saturday
May 6, 2017, 5:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve spent the past month observing how early the English cricket season starts these days so it’s something of an irony that on the first Saturday in May (and a sunny one too) there is absolutely no top-level cricket anywhere in England. So, as I suggested I’ve been off to the clubs.

My day started at an Art Gallery – the Pallant, in Chichester. I wasn’t expecting any cricket but they have a show of the work of leading British modernist Victor Pasmore. He ended his days making 2/3D abstracts but here’s a painting from his early days

Pasmore

Can you see the newspaper? The title is “The Bradman Still Life” (1929) and the newspaper apparently records a run feast in the Sheffield Shield in 1928/9. I wonder how Pasmore came by it?

Then I walked up the road to Chichester’s Priory Park

Priory 5.17.jpg

It’s a lovely little club ground and I was watching Chichester Priory Park’s 3rd XI v Wisborough Green. It was a league match, although their first team apparently now play elsewhere because of the pitch. It’s strange to think that Hampshire met Sussex here in a Championship match in the 1940s (see Comment).

After that, a quick train ride back to Havant Park (Havant v Alton) for some more traditional club cricket.

Or was it?

Havant Park

The first shot I saw was a reverse sweep for four, by which time I had already spotted the coloured clothes, the black sight-screen and the white ball. I have to say the standard of play was pretty impressive – batting, bowling and fielding – in a tight first innings, but I’m not sure about these latest innovations. Still at least it lasted 50 overs, and I didn’t spot many foreigners all day (apart from Bradman!)

 

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hampshire actually went there twice, in 1946 and 1947. In the first, Hampshire won by 49 runs in a match where only two men passed 50, and 40 wickets went for fewer than 700 runs. In 1947, Neville Rogers made 90, and Hampshire’s 279 was sufficient to win by an innings and 33 runs. George Heath took 10-93 in the match and the Sussex first innings ended in the 19th over! In 1948, Hampshire visited Worthing.

Comment by pompeypop

Duggan & Organ made 100s for the Academy who posted 299-3 in their 50 overs and Goodwin took 4-42, but New Milton have won it by 5 wickets with eight overs to spare. Incidentally, who knows what about F Middleton? (Familiar name). R Beck scored 110 for New Milton but was out with just two needed.

Comment by pompeypop

Fletcha Middleton is the son of Tony. He played for Fair Oak in a friendly at our place last week, and he batted with Mitch Le Tissier, son of Matt. Maybe he’ll be the next of the Father/Son duo’s to play for Hampshire . . .

Comment by Bob Elliott

. . I was told Mitch won’t be following his dad into their game!

Comment by Bob Elliott

I can’t go to the Bowl tomorrow – maybe I’d better pop down to Southsea Common for the party?

Comment by pompeypop

Sounds as if you had a busy day Dave. Chichester Priory Park’s 1st and 2nd XIs are playing the majority of their home games at Goodwood this season by the way. Another ground well worth a visit.

Comment by James

Been at Fratton Park incredible game and scenes. Going to the Ageas tomorrow though!

Comment by Paul

Played at Priory a couple of times a few years back. Kept wicket to a 17 ball over all wides either side of the wicket. Exhausted at the end of that over.

Comment by Paul

Dave, went to The Pallant yesterday prior to watching Forty Years On at CFT. Didn’t know of existence of that Passmore painting until I saw it. Was at Fratton today. One of those “I was there” occasions. Priory Park was the subject of an infamous match between Hampshire and Sussex in 1908. The second day’s play was abandoned without a ball being bowled as Ranji and all but two of the Sussex turned up late because they were at a house party a few miles away where it was pouring with rain. It was dry in Chichester. When they turned up, it started raining there and washed out play. Mentioned in my Miscellany; more details in Simon Wilde’s “Ranji A Genius Rich and Strange”.

Comment by Alan Edwards

Lovely stories Paul & Alan, cheers. I remember that Ranji tale – modesty prevents Alan from mentioning he’s the author and if you don’t (yet) have it, you should. I knew Pasmore’s later work pretty well but that picture was a surprise!

Comment by pompeypop

Hi Dave
I am pleased that you visited two places that I am so familiar with. Firstly the Pallant Gallery to whom our gallery sold a lot of works, including Passmore. Secondly Havant who I played both cricket and hockey for in my youth.
Sounds like you had a good day.

Comment by Stephen Saunders

It was a lovely day Stephen. I’m very fond of the Pallant – regular visitor.

Comment by pompeypop

I was also at Havant on Saturday for around 2hrs and You seem to have inadvertently “papped” me, that is me sitting on the bench in the distance over the shoulder of the bowler.

Very nice ground, nice to rock up and sit on a bench in the shade and enjoy some decent cricket. I was particular impressed by Alton’s #33 who was bowling some leg spin.

Comment by Michael S




Leave a Reply

