Hampshire Cricket History


New Titles
May 16, 2017, 7:27 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

You will probably remember my tale of the Gilliat chapter – some of you took up my offer and have a copy. I discovered eventually that it was RMC Gilliat himself who did not want it included – I’m not quite sure why, but given that it was a pretty positive account, I suspect (false?) modesty.

Anyway, the book is published. It is not predominantly a cricket book – the title is The Gilliats: A Chorleywood Family History with two chapters of the ten on our former captain. The author, Ian Foster, will be at the Ageas Bowl Bookshop tomorrow where, very kindly, he will add a printed copy of my ‘chapter’ to any book purchased. I think it costs £15 (hardback).

The Hampshire Handbook has survived and is out again (£12). Curiously – especially since it is a record of last year – the first name (alphabetically) in the list of Vice Presidents has been removed. I realise my politics are not quite typical of most cricket followers of my generation, but this is the first time I’ve seen myself (or I suppose, not seen myself) in the same light as Leon Trotsky! Erased from history.

Don’t forget too, Bob’s excellent latest book on Hampshire’s cricket grounds – a must for any Hampshire cricket library.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Will you be scarpering off to Mexico?

Comment by Paul

I might be assassinated – still maybe the Stranglers will write a song about me …

Comment by pompeypop

What does one have to do to be appreciated.
You only have to look around he Bowl to see a small amount
Of your contributions over the years.
Rather than being airbrushed the letters “Hon” spring more readily to mind.
After all Sir David Frost was made a VP without even visiting the ground!

Comment by John white

He has visited John. I think it was at our last T20 finals held at the ground. I spoke to him as he was leaving. I used to be the main Steward in the Robin Smith suite at that time.

Comment by Ron Griffiths

Absolutely John; to which add the contributions of a kindly voice over the decades on the PA, leader of the bucket crew for player beneficiaries past, much else, even travelling to Sophia Gardens in an Austin A30 with members of the Winton End Committee!

Comment by stephenfh

NB Stephen here is writing about John White who made the comment, not me or David Frost – I can’t claim those things but I think John & I share a certain sense of ‘disappointment’ these days in corporate world.

Comment by pompeypop

No opposition to Kim Jong-Bransgrove’s master plan will be tolerated!

How long before we all have to refer to him as “Dear Leader”?

Comment by James

On a personal level.
apparently some people have been kind enough to ask why I have not been heard on the PA recently.
I have been unwell for a while but expect to be back for the next championship game.
My apologies to Sir David.

Comment by John white




Leave a Reply

