Hampshire Cricket History


With the ‘Stiffs’
May 23, 2017, 1:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hampshire 2nd XI 553-8 dec (Holland 192)

Kent 85-3: Salisbury has two wickets and Holland one (could there be a whole Hampshire XI of place names?). Weatherley is out for 37 – his usual Kent score (?)

LATER (around tea): Kent 117-7: Weatherley (b Winchester, top score), McCoy (b Portsmouth) 2-20, best figures.

5PM: Kent 164 all out, Salisbury 4-49. Presumably following on … unless Adams and Alsop need an innings?

In fact, Kent batted again and started well.

PS This is Will Smith’s fifth 2nd XI game in 2017. In four of them he has scored a century.

Meanwhile Weatherley has his first half-century in his sixth Kent innings (three x 30s) and Kent have passed 100 with just one man gone – to Brad Taylor, who might bowl quite a lot tomorrow. Brad was of course, the very promising, youngest-ever Hampshire debutant in all three forms – but it’s nearly four years since his first-class debut.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Pleased to see Salisbury amongst the wickets. I first saw him bowl when he made his debut for Essex a few years ago. He looked promising and at the time Essex gave several local (to me) lads a chance in the 1st team, including tom Moore from Hutton and Salisbury who I think is from Shenfield where I live. Since then, they have introduced Beard, Porter and Walter, all from the Essex league unlike Hants who rarely look at local lads as Dave has pointed out many a time.

Unfortunately, Salisbury seemed to have disappeared off the radar. That is he had until the saturday before last when I walked down the lane to see Shenfield play Hornchurch in the first Essex league match of the season. He bowled well and took several wickets and I expressed surprise that Essex seemed to have let him go.

The following Tuesday, I decided to make a nostalgia trip to Basingstoke (my birthplace), where I spent many a happy boyhood day watching the likes of Guy Jewell, Phil Bichard, Maurice Smith, the Harrison brothers and the Butlers. On entering May’s Bounty for the 2nd xi game against Glamorgan I thought my eyes were deceiving me. Bowling from the Castle Fields end was a Salisbury look-a-like. I watched for a while and ‘Tomo’ came walking around the ground. We chatted about the game and I asked him if it was indeed Salisbury. He confirmed it was but didn’t seem to know much about him apart from he was from Essex and may be on trial. He finished off the Glamorgan innings taking 4wkts.

His bowling was accurate and what I like is that he makes the batsman play. Perhaps someone could explain that to Fidel !!! I do hope they persevere with him and maybe he could get a chance in the First xi. I won’t hold my breath though.

Comment by Dave Wilson

Lovely story Dave and many thanks. It’s a shame that Salisbury isn’t from our county but at least it’s southern England! I met the father of one of our promising youngsters (on a contract) recently, and he said how some of the young players had been somewhat disappointed during the winter with all the big name imports – it’s difficult to imagine them dropping their international players, and given the length of the contracts, the latest batch of promising youngsters might have a long wait – or worse.

Comment by pompeypop

Presume at tea. Kent 310-8 and still behind…

Comment by John Cottrell

We had to bat again for 7-0 for a 10 wkt win..

Comment by John Cottrell

The father of one of our promising youngsters? Could that be Alastair, father of Fraser Hay, or is it Hoy, Dave? I had a long chat with him at Horsham last year and again at Basingstoke recently. Very nice chap.

Comment by Dave Wilson

I’ve replied to Dave and told him the answer. I’ve explained that I won’t go public with it. MANY years ago, I used to help John White with out Exiles newsletter and I did an interview with a 2nd XI captain and promising youngster – already some success in the Championship. He expressed some frustrations in, I thought, an articulate, intelligent way, but because he was contracted, I was obliged to submit it for approval which I did not receive – censored! He didn’t ‘make the grade’ but much of it appeared eventually in ‘Entertain or Perish’. I learned a lesson back then to look after our youngsters.

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

