Hampshire Cricket History


Thank You
May 30, 2017, 6:27 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The Comments on the previous post are more than kind and I am very grateful to you all.

I have a proposal. I am determined to maintain my vow of silence and abstinence, but I realise that my decision is rather sudden and perhaps not quite fair for that, so

Just prior to each match for a few weeks at least, I’ll post a title that says something like “2 June v Warwickshire”. I will make no observations and say nothing, but it will allow you to add comments through the game, say anything you wish, add 2nd XI scores etc

In the meantime, I am very happy to talk to anyone who would like to set up a similar Blog and help where I can. On WordPress it’s not difficult. You can email me at

dave.allen@port.ac.uk

And thank you again

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can only agree with the comments of everyone else in regard to the loss of this blog and I shall miss my daily reading…thanks Dave.
Well over at the Rose Bowl today the Second XI v Navy T20 friendly ended in a comfortable win, Hampshire 230-7 Navy 105-10. Organ 87, Scriven 50, Goodwin 31 and Wood 34 with Brad Taylor taking 6-23 off 3.3. Wood did not bowl !!
It is the Army on Thursday…

Comment by John Cottrell

Excellent John. I hope you will all keep contributing and continue to enjoy this.

Comment by Dave Allen

A contribution from Ron Griffiths (thank you)

Dave, interesting news item down under that might send a chill through ECB and City Based Cricket aspirations http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/cricket-australia-reveals-the-big-bash-has-lost-33-million-over-its-first-five-years/news-story/04e15a632db26d7e8a39deee31020384

Comment by pompeypop

… and the Big Bash will be given a points deduction and relegated to the 2nd division of T20 tournaments.

Comment by Hedgehog

Dear Dave,
So sorry to see that you are ending the blog. I have enjoyed reading, and occasionally contributing to, it over the past three years or so. As a bonus, the blog has by chance put me in touch with two or three old acquaintances from years ago who are fellow Hampshire supporters.
I would also like to thank you for having the dedication to Tom Mottram, in the form of John Arlott’s words and funded by my friend Steve Ferris and myself, put up in the Atrium a couple of years ago
I share much of your frustration at what is happening at Hampshire and in cricket generally, although I do try and look on the bright side – 53 years of watching Hampshire has taught me to do that! I shall continue attending when I can, although restricted at present as my wife is temporarily immobile following a fall, but I will be back later in the season. Hope to bump into you again some time.
All the very best,
Tim.

Comment by Tim Driscoll




Leave a Reply

