Hampshire Cricket History


On with the Cricket!
July 12, 2017, 1:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I guess it’s obvious that I have re-engaged with this Blog and will probably keep going – albeit without any longer watching much/any cricket ‘live’.

Wherever possible I shall try to find contemporary reasons to link to our history, as with the Bransgrove/Kolpaks story or ‘Shack’ and Philander. Otherwise I might just take up an historical tale of interest and hope you enjoy it.

I have a section also on the 1864 supporters site which currently has four pieces, somewhat longer than those on the Blog

http://www.1864hampshire.co.uk/looking-back-with-dave-allen.html

On the Blog, other than where a News Story appears, seems relevant and I make a response (e.g. T20 this morning), I propose to avoid repeating my unhappiness with aspects of the modern game/county club. I guess my views are pretty clear by now.

I would not want any one else to feel constrained however; I don’t censor, so say what you wish – even about Beefy’s!

That being the case – and thanks to John for information that the 2nd XI game has been abandoned (T20 double tomorrow) the next ‘event’ is this evening and I might even watch it on TV, but there will be no further pre-match ‘stats’ from me for T20. From now on, it’s a matter of providing the link to Tigger’s excellent site. So here goes – and if you’re off to Hove, have fun:

http://hampshirecricket.net/Team_Sussex_TT_records.htm

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Rather than eulogise Beefys let’s hear it for Boundary Lakes! Set to dominate the web site for a week or two.

Comment by Paul

Fore!

Comment by pompeypop

And Tigger immediately into action, record first wkt partnership Hants v Sussex!

Comment by pompeypop

Indeed, already updated. Also a record 5th wkt partnership for Sussex against us.

Comment by Tigger MIles

Wow great start

Comment by Paul

109-1, just 13 short of our all time record for first wkt by ‘Carbs’ and Basingstoke’s Mitchell Stokes

Comment by pompeypop

That Rossouw is pretty good!
Amazingly both Sussex and Essex have lost their first two games in T20.

Comment by Paul

Not bad, hit a couple of fine straight shots but looks a bit of a slogger and should probably have been caught by Jordan. Danny Briggs looked a bit lost and he dropped a much easier chance. I thought Vince was outstanding but of course that’s frustrating – he should be at Trent Bridge. In the field Crane’s spell was terrific. I wonder how much longer Hampshire will have him?

Comment by pompeypop




Leave a Reply

