Hampshire Cricket History


Always innovating
July 31, 2017, 5:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

You will realise how keen I am to leave tradition behind and move with, indeed ahead of the times. I have discovered in a box at home what I believe to be the earliest recorded evidence of me as a cricketer, hinting at a number of innovations

IMG_7907

I think this is probably August 1955, a great year for Hampshire (3rd place for the first time) and obviously a key one for me. You note that I was already keen on getting the girls to play, and my sister is anticipating the Dilshan scoop shot over my head.

Sadly, I didn’t make it as a wicketkeeper, but I showed Ian Botham how to stand at slip. I am however, disappointed that my attempts to replace caps with clowns’ hats (to the left of me and the right) never caught on.

Neither apparently did my preference for a fag* while ‘keeping’.

*That’s ‘fag’ as in Pompey, rather than Eton. And incidentally if this was my ‘debut’ it’s in Chesterfield, Derbyshire (on holiday) not Hampshire.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great picture, Dave. You were always destined to be a star!

Comment by Dave Wilson

Or a clown!

Comment by pompeypop

Did you take Norman Uprichard as your role model?

Comment by Paul




Leave a Reply

