Hampshire Cricket History


Name this XII
January 23, 2018, 10:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Stephen Saunders sent this – a Testimonial match for George Heath at Bournemouth in 1951, and this is Hampshire Past (who played v Present).

Can you name them? I’ve got nine, but I don’t know those third, sixth and ninth from the left. Two of them were (official) captains but if you look very carefully there’s a third captain in the photo. Incidentally one of them, unexpectedly, wasn’t quite ‘past it’ yet …

It’s delightful! Stephen knows them all, so we’ll post the answers (when he tells me!)

HCCC Past 1951.jpg


5 Comments

It looks like Desmond (Eagar) In the doorway in the background.

Comment by Terry Crump

That’s right Terry

Comment by pompeypop

Hello Dave,

I think (?) I know all the names of ‘The Past XI’ in the photo of 1952 at Bournemouth. Question: do you or Stephen have a photo of ‘The Present XI’? Or a scorecard?

Interesting stuff.

Cheers…..Punchy.

________________________________

Comment by Alan Rayment

Hi Alan. I thought you’d know – did you play? I’m afraid there is no sign of a scorecard on Cricket Archive or in the Hampshire Handbook.; I wonder whether it was 12-per-side? It seems to have stumped our Bloggers so time to reveal soon.

Comment by pompeypop

I am not surprised that you can name them all, Alan, as you were there.
I was in London yesterday so could not react.
I do not know your email address Alan so am sending a copy of the scorecard to Dave to either send on to you or to post.

Comment by Stephen Saunders




Comments are closed.