Hampshire Cricket History

June 28, 2018, 9:51 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This links to the previous post; Alan’s Comment had been looking up the records

In 1988, our team in the final was the same that contested the semi-final

In 1991, Tony Middleton scored 78, replacing Chris Smith who left Hampshire after the semi-final. Nicholas was injured in the previous match and was replaced by Jon Ayling (18* & 2-39) with Gower as captain

In 1992, Bobby Parks replaced the injured Adi Aymes and Ayling (2-38) replaced Raj Maru – neither replacements batted

In 2005, Kevin Pietersen replaced Jono McLean and scored 5

In 2007, (when we lost) West Indian Powell (1 & 2-80)  replaced Stuart Clark as the second overseas player

In 2009, the semi-final and final teams were the same

In 2012, Neil McKenzie (19) replaced Bilal Shafayat and Kabir Ali (1-50 including the winning ball) replaced Danny Briggs who was omitted by England.

So McLean, Clark, Shafayat and Briggs have played in semi-finals but not finals for Hampshire. It might be that McManus is added to that list on Saturday. If they stick to the same XI as v Yorkshire, then Alsop (who was injured) won’t play.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: