Hampshire Cricket History

The Way It Was
August 24, 2018, 2:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve been working with Dominic at the Ageas Bowl on the AV presentation for Tuesday night’s Captains’ Dinner. Among other things, we’ve been using some team photos.

Here is one from 1955, when we came third for the first time:


It’s the team at Lord’s. Two other men appeared that year, Mike Barnard and Colin Ingleby-Mackenzie. Six years later, we won the Championship, and those two, plus eight of the team shown here were still around. Only Alan Rayment, Vic Cannings, Neville Rogers and Desmond Eagar had gone, all retired, although Eagar was still secretary.

Now here’s a squad photo from six years ago, the previous occasion on which we won a Lord’s Final:

2012 copy

Only four of those 16 men remain: Dawson, Vince, Wood and Adams – and Adams might be near the end, while Chris Wood is mainly just a white-ball player. Three are playing elsewhere (Briggs, Ervine & Rouse) although “Tommo’ is still at Hampshire, coaching.

It’s a different world.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

But not a better one!
Time was when you knew the players of all counties from one year to the next. Not now.
I see Ben Slater is moving from Derbyshire to Nottinghamshire.

Comment by Paul

Meanwhile two of our ‘old boys’, Danny Briggs and Nathan Rimmington have dropped catches in tonight’s T20 QF, although Danny made amends almost immediately by catching Will Smith off his own bowling.

Comment by pompeypop

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: