Hampshire Cricket History

Forever Changes?
February 11, 2023, 9:19 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

(AKA Fiddling while Rome burns)

I’m picking up conversations elsewhere about changes to points awarded for run, wickets and draws in the is year’s Championship. I’ve not found a report anywhere but assuming it is the case maybe someone might enlighten us?

(Mind you it’s not too important – this time next year it will have changed again)

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment


Comment by dmashala

Thank you – there it is then. I’ll try to memorise it.

Comment by Dave Allen

Ch Ch Ch Changes…

Comment by Bill Seager

That will not help are seamers, who are our strongest weapons?

Comment by Bill Seager

Mind you there are very few counties with significant spinners – Yorkshire with Dom Bess (36 wkts at 43) were relegated; Champions Surrey had only Will Jacks whose 17 wickets at 47 each got him an England call-up! Dawson & Organ took 34 between them at around 30, so pretty good.

Comment by Dave Allen

Apparently it was in yesterday’s Times Dave. 5 points only now for a draw. Still 5 batting points in 110 overs. First at 250, 5th at 450 to encourage faster scoring as per “Bazball”!!!

Comment by Alex McKinlay

Thanks Alex – I missed that, reading the Guardian as usual and a wonderful tribute to Burt Bacharach in the Telegraph. I was fooled by the BBC headline which was about ‘Balls’ ( a Freudian trick?).

Comment by Dave Allen

With only one draw last season, Hampshire would have been rewarded with 2nd place if those rules had been in place.

Comment by Hedgehog

I have seen that thought elsewhere but it assumes that teams would have played the same way – I’m not sure they would have.

Comment by Dave Allen

Vince & Dawson the ILt20 (the UAE league that doesn’t count towards t20 stats and no crowds…)

Fuller & Crane (and Adi Birrell) won the SA20. A much better League imo that should do wonders for cricket in SA. Big crowds, great cricket.

Fuller, Vince & Dawson are now going to the PSL (Pakistan).

Comment by Tom Johnson

*should say Vince and Dawson won

Comment by Tom Johnson

Thank you Tom – I believe Adi Birrell coached the South African winners(?)

Comment by Dave Allen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: