Hampshire Cricket History

April 29, 2013, 7:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hampshire V Sussex FPT Final Lords 25-7-2009


Champions: Durham, Knock-out Cup: Hampshire, Pro40 Sussex, T20: Sussex

Dimitri Mascarenhas was the captain but Pothas deputised for him until mid-June as he was playing in the IPL. Dominic Cork joined Hampshire from Lancashire and took 4-10 and 2-27 on debut in an opening match victory. Marcus North was the first overseas player to arrive and scored 15 on the first day v Warwickshire whereupon Australia called him into their touring side and he left the county.

Hampshire won the Friends Provident Trophy v Sussex at Lord’s with Dominic Cork Man-of-the-Match. In the final qualifying match, Hampshire beat Nottinghamshire by 10 wickets and when Worcestershire lost to Ireland, qualified for a home quarter-final v Middlesex which they won thanks to 100 by Lumb. In the semi-final at Old Trafford, Lumb and Adams opened with 159 and the latter took two stunning catches to take Hampshire to Lord’s. Sussex batted first and Cork struck as Sussex slipped from 30-0 to 43-4. Hampshire’s target was 220 and everyone contributed as they won by six wickets with almost 10 overs to spare.

Hampshire’s 316-2 v Ireland was their highest limited overs score at the Rose Bowl. Hampshire finished fifth in the Pro40 and reached a T20 quarter final at Northampton a few days after their Lord’s Final. At 121-6 they needed 14 to win from 10 balls but failed to add a run and were bowled out.

In the Championship, Hampshire won just three matches but finished sixth, avoiding relegation. Imran Tahir returned in mid-season and took 52 wickets although at an average above 30. Hampshire scored 654-8 declared v Nottinghamshire at Trent Bridge with 219 by Lumb. Adams, Carberry and Lumb passed 1,000 runs and Pothas averaged 74.18. Apart from Tahir, Griffiths with 32 was the highest wicket taker.

James Vince made his first-class debut and Danny Briggs became the 500th player to make his first-class debut for the county since entering the Championship in 1895. Briggs appeared in the same side as David Griffiths, the first occasion on which two men from the Isle of Wight had played in the same first-class side.

Former captain Nick Pocock was elected President to succeed Barry Richards. At the end of the season, John Crawley retired, Chris Tremlett moved to Surrey and Billy Taylor left the staff.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment


Comment by Bob Elliott

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: