Hampshire Cricket History


Bored or Excited?
June 20, 2013, 5:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Sunday’s Final could be decent if the weather holds (BIG IF apparently) but I’ve been at home for most of past two days trying to complete the Index on the 15o Book. Indexing is not the best fun I’ve ever had by some distance but I have at least watched the two semi finals. I’m pleased about both results but neither ‘match’ was much of an advert for 50 overs was it? India won by 8 wickets with 15 overs to spare and England by 7 wickets with 12+ to go and both results loked probable from early on

By contrast Kent beat Sussex yesterday by 3 wickets in a 40 over match with 673 runs and three centurions. That must have been fun

There’s fun at Old Trafford too. Hampshire’s hopes of promotion depend upon an excellent second half to the season but the two leaders might be helping today. 18 wickets have fallen already (it’s not over yet) so if Lancashire could wrap up victory with neither side getting any batting points all we need is Tony Pigot to fine Lancashire 20 points. That would be most handy!


2 Comments

Hmm … 673 runs in less than 80 overs at Canterbury? Suggests extremely short boundaries and a total mis-match between batsmen and bowlers which isn’t, in my opinion, what cricket is all about. Mind you I didn’t see it so I could be totally wrong of course.

Interesting day at Old Trafford but frankly what happens at the top of the table isn’t likely to concern this current Hampshire side. Staying above Leicestershire and avoiding the wooden spoon is more of a concern now I’m afraid.

Comment by SteveG

I have used a program called “PDF Index Generator” … http://www.pdfindexgenerator.com … to index my latest book. You can give it a try to save some time.

The game was fun though 🙂

Comment by Michael Roberts




Comments are closed.