Hampshire Cricket History


A Special Memory
October 31, 2016, 3:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

rem-jrg-portsmouth-2

I never saw much of Vic but for my first five or six years supporting Hampshire this was one of my favourite sights – maybe 11.25 on a Saturday morning, Roy and Jimmy opening at Pompey in the sunshine, anticipating that an hour later we might be 60-0 with Marshall already past 40 …

Those boys are a bit older than me – I reckon this is about 1956/7 – but I was soon to join the queue!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Vic Cannings was my fathers cousin and he often called at our family home in Bighton, to us he was Uncle Vic and he often brought my brothers used bats and balls so they were the envy of the other lads in Bighton. I always got a card from him at Christmas and a few years ago my son fetched Vic from Eton and took him back to Bighton for a boozy lunch at the Three Horse Shoes. It was a family get together and the only time I have been thrown out of a pub.

Comment by Janet Witcomb




Leave a Reply

